C108gelg - Fitzroy Darlot Regional Flood Investigation Implementation

What the Amendment does

The Glenelg Shire Council has prepared Amendment C108gelg to the Glenelg Planning Scheme.

The amendment proposes to implement the Fitzroy River, Darlot Creek and Heywood Regional Floodplain Mapping Study (2017) by inserting high confidence mapping into the Glenelg Planning Scheme by way of the Floodway Overlay (FO) and Land Subject to Inundation Overlay (LSIO). The FO represents the higher hazard portion of the floodplain where flooding may occur equal to or greater than 0.5 metre flood depth or with a depth velocity product equal to or greater than 0.4m2/s.

Land affected by the Amendment

The land affected by the amendment is the Fitzroy River floodplain, including within the town of Heywood, from the edge of the Cobboboonee National Park to the river mouth at Tyrendarra and the Darlot Creek floodplain from the downstream end of Lake Condah to its confluence with the Fitzroy River. A mapping reference table is attached with the amendment documentation.

Where can I view the Amendment?

The amendment documentation is available here.

Or for inspection during office hours at:

  • Portland Customer Service Centre, 56 Percy Street, Portland VIC 3305
  • Heywood Customer Service Centre, 77 Edgar Street, Heywood VIC 3304

The amendment can also be inspected from 7 July 2022 at:


Any person who may be affected by the amendment may make a submission in writing to the planning authority. Submissions about the amendment must be received by 8 August 2022.

A submission must be sent to:

Glenelg Shire Council, Planning Unit:

  • In person at a Glenelg Shire Council Customer Service Centre.
  • By mail to: PO Box 152, Portland VIC 3305.
  • By email to: planning@glenelg.vic.gov.au.


Council resolved at the 27 September 2022 Council Meeting to refer all submissions received to a Planning Panel.

Please find a copy of Council's written submission with attachments here.

The Panel Hearing will be held on 29 November 2022 from 10am - 2pm. Members of the public are able to attend to observe in person or online: