Apply for an Accessible Parking Permit

 A statewide Accessible Parking Permit scheme currently operates in Victoria. The scheme has two categories with varying parking concessions, based on the applicants need for assistance.

Permits give parking concessions to those with impaired mobility. There are three types of Accessible Parking Permits available to Victorian residents:

  1. An Australian Disability Parking (ADP) Permit (for individuals)
  2. A Victorian Double Time Permit (for individuals)
  3. An Australian Disability Parking (ADP) Permit (for organisations).

 The application process will tell you which permit you are eligible for.

How to Apply

You can apply online. Only permanent residents of the Glenelg Shire are eligible for a permit and the application form must be endorsed by a local medical practitioner or Occupational Therapist.

The new scheme streamlines the application process making it easier and more consistent.

  • Introduction of temporary permits for 6, 12 or 24 months.
  • Increased permit length from three years to five years for individuals.
  • Introduction of a permanent disability classification, so reassessments are not required for future permit renewals.
  • A new single and secure state-wide permit design that will reduce the misuse of permits.
  • The inclusion of occupational therapists as assessors, in addition to GPs.
  • Better alignment between Victoria with the COAG 2010 Australian Disability Parking Permit Scheme (ADPS).