Council Meetings

Council Meetings are usually held at 7.00pm on the fourth Tuesday of the month in the Portland Municipal Offices – Council Chambers. Due to flooding damage the Council Meetings are currently being held at the Portland Arts Centre, Glenelg Street, Portland.  The Council Meeting schedule is arranged according to the Mayoral year (December to November).

Meeting agendas are available from the day prior to the Council Meeting, or a limited amount will be available at the Council Meeting. Minutes of the most recent Council Meeting are in draft form only and must be confirmed by Council at the next Council Meeting.

The Council Meeting Dates for 2022/2023 Mayoral Year:

That the Council Meetings be held on the following dates:

  • Tuesday 22 November 2022
  • Tuesday 13 December 2022
  • Tuesday 24 January 2023 - Location: Council Chamber, Portland Customer Service Centre, Cliff Street
  • Tuesday 28 February 2023
  • Tuesday 28 March 2023 - Nelson
  • Tuesday 25 April 2023
  • Tuesday 23 May 2023
  • Tuesday 27 June 2023
  • Tuesday 25 July 2023
  • Tuesday 22 August 2023
  • Tuesday 26 September 2022 - Casterton
  • Tuesday 24 October 2023

Statutory Council Meeting be held on Wednesday, 1 November 2023, location to be confirmed.

Governance Rules

Governance rules describe the way that Council conduct council meetings and make decisions. 

The Governance Rules were adopted by Council at the meeting held on Tuesday 27 September 2022.